Around Arizona What's Happening Where To Go Top Acts log into calendar / register
 
  space



Phoenix Art Museum


address  1625 N. Central Ave.
 Phoenix, AZ  85004-1685
cross street E. McDowell Rd.
phone (602) 257-1222
hours Tue. 10 a.m.-5 p.m.; Wed. 10 am-9 pm; Thu.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm; Sun. noon-5 pm
parking Free
general adm $23; $20 seniors (65+); $18 students with ID; $14 youth 6-17
www.phxart.org

Sublime Landscapes

Sublime Landscapes

Art Show
Spurred by the artists from the North East who comprised the Hudson River School, landscape painting was one of the most popular subjects in nineteenth-century America. Pushed ever westward by expansionist notions of Manifest Destiny, a belief that such territorial expansion was inevitable and pre-ordained. Painters were also part of government initiatives to survey the vast region, particularly in regards to potential railroad routes and to learn about the indigenous populations they encountered.

Adventurous artists sought landscape subjects beyond the continental United States, some traveling to the Arctic, where they found immense icebergs and the Aurora Borealis (these were dangerous journeys). Artists visited equatorial South America where they thrilled to the sublime vistas and smoldering volcanos they discovered. The Amazon and the Andes were rich sources for exotic paintings. Many regarded South America as “a land of scientific wonders, golden riches, and edenic innocence.” J.P. Reichardt’s Latin American Scene of 1866 captures the attraction of humid locales very different from North America.
Event Info: (602) 257-1222
Information: 602-257-1222
Price: Included in admission
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Wed 2/19/20 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 2/20/20 - Sat 2/22/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 2/23/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 2/25/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 2/26/20 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 2/27/20 - Sat 2/29/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/1/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 3/3/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 3/4/20 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 3/5/20 - Sat 3/7/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/8/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 3/10/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 3/11/20 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 3/12/20 - Sat 3/14/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/15/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 3/17/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 3/18/20 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 3/19/20 - Sat 3/21/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/22/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 3/24/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 3/25/20 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 3/26/20 - Sat 3/28/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/29/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 3/31/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 4/1/20 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 4/2/20 - Sat 4/4/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 4/5/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 4/7/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 4/8/20 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 4/9/20 - Sat 4/11/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 4/12/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 4/14/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 4/15/20 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 4/16/20 - Sat 4/18/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 4/19/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 4/21/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 4/22/20 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 4/23/20 - Sat 4/25/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 4/26/20 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 4/28/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 4/29/20 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 4/30/20 - Sat 5/2/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 5/3/20 at 12pm-5pm