Around Arizona What's Happening Where To Go Top Acts log into calendar / register
 
  space



Phoenix Art Museum


address  1625 N. Central Ave.
 Phoenix, AZ  85004-1685
cross street E. McDowell Rd.
phone (602) 257-1222
hours Tue. 10 a.m.-5 p.m.; Wed. 10 am-9 pm; Thu.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm; Sun. noon-5 pm
parking Free
general adm $18; $15 seniors; $13 students with ID; $9 children 6-17; free for members and children 5 and under and Wed. 3-9 pm &Fri. 6-10 pm
www.phxart.org

Saintly Soldiers of the Sikh Faith

Saintly Soldiers of the Sikh Faith

History/Science
Sikhism and military history are closely intertwined. Beginning with the Sixth Guru Hargobind (1606-1644), the concept of temporal power combined with spiritual guidance took root as this faith sought freedom of worship against discriminatory policies in India at that time. The Tenth Guru Gobind Singh (1675-1708) stated, “When all efforts to restore peace prove useless and no words avail, lawful is the flash of steel, it is right to draw the sword.” The order of the Khalsa, once formalized, has prevailed to the present time as a political and a religious institution. This exhibition offers a glimpse of the weapons, images and other articles of Sikh history that demonstrate the balance of martial and spiritual endeavors of Sikh leaders and communities in times of peace and of battle.
Event Info: (602) 257-1222
Information: 602-257-1222
Price: Included in admission
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Wed 8/15/18 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 8/16/18 - Sat 8/18/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 8/19/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 8/21/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 8/22/18 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 8/23/18 - Sat 8/25/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 8/26/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 8/28/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 8/29/18 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 8/30/18 - Sat 9/1/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 9/2/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 9/4/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 9/5/18 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 9/6/18 - Sat 9/8/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 9/9/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 9/11/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 9/12/18 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 9/13/18 - Sat 9/15/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 9/16/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 9/18/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 9/19/18 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 9/20/18 - Sat 9/22/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 9/23/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 9/25/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 9/26/18 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 9/27/18 - Sat 9/29/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 9/30/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 10/2/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 10/3/18 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 10/4/18 - Sat 10/6/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 10/7/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 10/9/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 10/10/18 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 10/11/18 - Sat 10/13/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 10/14/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 10/16/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 10/17/18 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 10/18/18 - Sat 10/20/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 10/21/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 10/23/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 10/24/18 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 10/25/18 - Sat 10/27/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 10/28/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 10/30/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 10/31/18 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 11/1/18 - Sat 11/3/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 11/4/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 11/6/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 11/7/18 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 11/8/18 - Sat 11/10/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 11/11/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 11/13/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 11/14/18 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 11/15/18 - Sat 11/17/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 11/18/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 11/20/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 11/21/18 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 11/22/18 - Sat 11/24/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 11/25/18 at 12pm-5pm 
 • Tue 11/27/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 11/28/18 at 10am-9pm 
 • Thu 11/29/18 - Sat 12/1/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 12/2/18 at 12pm-5pm