Around Arizona What's Happening Where To Go Top Acts log into calendar / register
 
  space



Pueblo Grande Museum


address  4619 E. Washington St.
 Phoenix, AZ  85034
cross street N. 48th St., near Highway 143
phone (602) 495-0901
hours Tue.-Sat. 9 am-4:45 pm
general adm $6; $5 seniors; $3 children 6-17; free for children 5 and under
www.pueblogrande.com/

Fragments: Broken Bowls Tell More Tales

Fragments: Broken Bowls Tell More Tales

History/Science, Ceramics/Pottery
Visitors typically see the most unique and complete pottery vessels of a museums’ collection on display. They seldom see, or know about, the thousands of broken pottery fragments called ‘sherds’ that are preserved in storage. Sherds can be used by researchers to uncover a variety of details, such as how the pottery was made, used, and where it was produced. These details aren’t always obvious during examinations of gorgeous whole pottery vessels. Using local and traded examples, Fragments invites visitors to see how sherds help archaeologists piece together new ideas about the ancestral O'Odham, more commonly known as the Hohokam. This exhibition will feature sherds that connect the Hohokam with their neighbors across the Southwest and northern Mexico during the time of the European Renaissance. Listen to local Native perspectives on archaeology and cultural preservation while experiencing traditional O’odham songs that tell of the mountains surrounding Pueblo Grande and their deep connections to past, present, and future O’odham generations. Visitors will also have the chance to test their own research detective skills. Interactives and 3-D printed replica pottery sherds in the exhibit provide a hands-on opportunity for guests to discover the tales pottery fragments can tell for themselves.
Event Info: (602) 495-0901
Information: 602-495-0901
Price: Included in admission
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Thu 5/23/19 - Sat 5/25/19 at 9am-4:45pm 
 • Sun 5/26/19 at 1pm-4:45pm 
 • Mon 5/27/19 - Sat 6/1/19 at 9am-4:45pm 
 • Sun 6/2/19 at 1pm-4:45pm 
 • Mon 6/3/19 - Sat 6/8/19 at 9am-4:45pm 
 • Sun 6/9/19 at 1pm-4:45pm 
 • Mon 6/10/19 - Sat 6/15/19 at 9am-4:45pm 
 • Sun 6/16/19 at 1pm-4:45pm 
 • Mon 6/17/19 - Sat 6/22/19 at 9am-4:45pm 
 • Sun 6/23/19 at 1pm-4:45pm 
 • Mon 6/24/19 - Sat 6/29/19 at 9am-4:45pm 
 • Sun 6/30/19 at 1pm-4:45pm 
 • Mon 7/1/19 - Sat 7/6/19 at 9am-4:45pm 
 • Sun 7/7/19 at 1pm-4:45pm 
 • Mon 7/8/19 - Sat 7/13/19 at 9am-4:45pm 
 • Sun 7/14/19 at 1pm-4:45pm 
 • Mon 7/15/19 - Sat 7/20/19 at 9am-4:45pm 
 • Sun 7/21/19 at 1pm-4:45pm 
 • Mon 7/22/19 - Sat 7/27/19 at 9am-4:45pm 
 • Sun 7/28/19 at 1pm-4:45pm 
 • Mon 7/29/19 - Sat 8/3/19 at 9am-4:45pm 
 • Sun 8/4/19 at 1pm-4:45pm 
 • Mon 8/5/19 - Sat 8/10/19 at 9am-4:45pm 
 • Sun 8/11/19 at 1pm-4:45pm 
 • Mon 8/12/19 - Sat 8/17/19 at 9am-4:45pm 
 • Sun 8/18/19 at 1pm-4:45pm 
 • Mon 8/19/19 - Sat 8/24/19 at 9am-4:45pm 
 • Sun 8/25/19 at 1pm-4:45pm 
 • Mon 8/26/19 - Sat 8/31/19 at 9am-4:45pm