Around Arizona What's Happening Where To Go Top Acts log into calendar / register
 
  space



Heard Museum


address  2301 N. Central Ave.
 Phoenix, AZ  85004
cross street E. Monte Vista Rd.
phone (602) 252-8840
hours Mon.-Sat. 9:30 am-5 pm; Sun. 11 am-5 pm
parking Free in nearby lots
general adm $18; $13.50 seniors; $7.50 students and children 6-17; free for American Indians and children 5 and under
www.heard.org

David Hockney’s Yosemite and Masters of California Basketry

David Hockney’s Yosemite and Masters of California Basketry

Folk Art/Crafts, Photography
The exhibition marks the first showing of Hockney’s work in Arizona and will highlight the influence of the American landscape on his seminal work while illuminating how Indigenous women inspired by the same landscape have made significant contributions to the field of art production. The objects on view will illustrate ways in which technology can be implemented in artistic creation, from the sophisticated technology of basketry to the innovative use of digital technologies like the iPad. Included are more than 20 spectacular examples of Mono Lake Paiute and Miwok basketry, made by 9 different artists in the early to mid-20th century, as well as 29 of Hockney’s iPad drawings printed on paper, and his rarely shown photographic collages from the 1980s.
Event Info: (602) 252-8840
Price: Included in admission
Payment Via: Cash, All major credit cards
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sun 2/16/20 at 11am-5pm 
 • Mon 2/17/20 - Sat 2/22/20 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 2/23/20 at 11am-5pm 
 • Mon 2/24/20 - Sat 2/29/20 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/1/20 at 11am-5pm 
 • Mon 3/2/20 - Sat 3/7/20 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/8/20 at 11am-5pm 
 • Mon 3/9/20 - Sat 3/14/20 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/15/20 at 11am-5pm 
 • Mon 3/16/20 - Sat 3/21/20 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/22/20 at 11am-5pm 
 • Mon 3/23/20 - Sat 3/28/20 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/29/20 at 11am-5pm 
 • Mon 3/30/20 - Sat 4/4/20 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 4/5/20 at 11am-5pm