Around Arizona What's Happening Where To Go Top Acts log into calendar / register
 
  space



Scottsdale Public Library – Appaloosa Library


address  7377 E. Silverstone Dr.
 Scottsdale, AZ  85255
phone (480) 312-7323
www.scottsdalelibrary.org

Harrison Hurwitz: Photographer, Working

Harrison Hurwitz: Photographer, Working

Photography
The subject matter varies, but a common theme among the works found in the new exhibition “Harrison Hurwitz: Photographer, Working” is a theme of photos made under stressful conditions. The exhibition opens Jan. 8 at the Appaloosa Library in Scottsdale. “I believe the common theme would be ‘portraits done under stress,’” said Hurwitz. “To get the ballet photo, I had to climb and move onto flimsy scaffolding. For my photos of famous people, all of them told me I had five or 10 minutes to do it. … I have always loved being challenged, and I have done much of my best work that way.” Hurwitz is a quick thinker — with adaptability, agility, cunning and charm — and works to take the perfect public relations headshot, “candid” pictures for magazines, or a photo story for a ballet company. Hours of planning are needed for a five-minute shoot with the successful, busy and famous. With each image in the exhibition, Hurwitz gives us his behind-the-scenes thoughts from the moment.
Price: Free
Free
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Tue 1/15/19 - Thu 1/17/19 at 9am-8pm 
 • Fri 1/18/19 - Sat 1/19/19 at 10am-6pm 
 • Sun 1/20/19 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Mon 1/21/19 - Thu 1/24/19 at 9am-8pm 
 • Fri 1/25/19 - Sat 1/26/19 at 10am-6pm 
 • Sun 1/27/19 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Mon 1/28/19 - Thu 1/31/19 at 9am-8pm 
 • Fri 2/1/19 - Sat 2/2/19 at 10am-6pm 
 • Sun 2/3/19 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Mon 2/4/19 - Thu 2/7/19 at 9am-8pm 
 • Fri 2/8/19 - Sat 2/9/19 at 10am-6pm 
 • Sun 2/10/19 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Mon 2/11/19 - Thu 2/14/19 at 9am-8pm 
 • Fri 2/15/19 - Sat 2/16/19 at 10am-6pm 
 • Sun 2/17/19 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Mon 2/18/19 - Thu 2/21/19 at 9am-8pm 
 • Fri 2/22/19 - Sat 2/23/19 at 10am-6pm 
 • Sun 2/24/19 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Mon 2/25/19 - Thu 2/28/19 at 9am-8pm