Around Arizona What's Happening Where To Go Top Acts log into calendar / register
 
  space



Chandler Museum


address  300 S. Chandler Village Drive
 Chandler, AZ  85226
phone (480) 782-2717
hours Tue.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm; Sun. 1-5 pm
general adm Free
www.chandlermuseum.org

Upcoming Events

Gaman: Enduring Japanese American Internment at Gila River

Museum, Art Show, History/Science, For the Family
During World War II over 16,000 Japanese Americans were forcibly removed from the west coast to Gila River Internment Camp, near Chandler, simply because they looked like the enemy. This poignant exhibit demonstrates how the Japanese value gaman, enduring the seemingly impossible with patience and dignity, guided these American citizens, through loss and incarceration in the Arizona desert. See the photos, hear the stories, read the names of incarcerees, and view the community contributed paper cranes in this transformative exhibition.
• Kid Friendly
History; Exhibits; education
Event Info: (480) 782-2717
Ages: All ages
Price: Free
Free
Event Website: www.chandleraz.gov
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Wed 2/19/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 2/20/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 2/21/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 2/22/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 2/23/20 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 2/25/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 2/26/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 2/27/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 2/28/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 2/29/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/1/20 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 3/3/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 3/4/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 3/5/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 3/6/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 3/7/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/8/20 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 3/10/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 3/11/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 3/12/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 3/13/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 3/14/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/15/20 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 3/17/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 3/18/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 3/19/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 3/20/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 3/21/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/22/20 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 3/24/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 3/25/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 3/26/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 3/27/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 3/28/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/29/20 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 3/31/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 4/1/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 4/2/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 4/3/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 4/4/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 4/5/20 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 4/7/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 4/8/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 4/9/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 4/10/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 4/11/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 4/12/20 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 4/14/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 4/15/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 4/16/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 4/17/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 4/18/20 at 10am-5pm 

History of Walls: The Borders We Build

Community Event, History/Science
For as long as there have been nations, those nations have built walls. This exhibit explores four significant historic walls built by nation-states—the Great Wall of China, the Berlin Wall, the Israel/West Bank Barrier, and the US/Mexico Border Wall—by way of understanding these feats of architecture in their historical, cultural, and political context. The exhibit explores each wall through words, images, video, and written interactives. Presented in both English and Spanish.
A History of Walls: The Borders We Build is an Overland Traveling Exhibit.
Event Info: (480) 782-2717
Price: Free
Free
Event Website: www.chandleraz.gov
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Wed 2/19/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 2/20/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 2/21/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 2/22/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Tue 2/25/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 2/26/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 2/27/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 2/28/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 2/29/20 at 10am-5pm 

Arians Family Foundation “Night At The Museum”

Benefit/Fundraiser
On February 22nd, the Chandler Museum will open its doors to the Arians Family Foundation providing the perfect backdrop to an unforgettable night of celebration to benefit the Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) program in their community.
This unique fashion-forward fundraising event highlights specialty drinks, fare of local chefs, and amazing live music with a special performance by NBC’s hit show “The Voice” finalist Mary Sarah.
Come join your community and the Arian’s family in enjoying the new Chandler Museum, and hear from Jake Arians, the President of the Arians Family Foundation, about his family’s journey in support of advocacy for foster children through the Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) program. The evening will conclude with a live painting from local Chandler artist Justin Pierce.
fundraising;nonprofit;wine
Event Info: (310) 426-9900
Price: $175
Event Website: https://ariansfamilyfoundation.org/shop?olsPage=t%2Fa-night-at-the-museum
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 2/22/20 at 6:30pm-10pm 

aMUSEment- Puzzled and BeMUSEd

Children's Arts/Crafts, Children
Puzzles galore in all shapes and sizes! Come try your hand at fitting together various puzzle pieces and types.
History;Education
Event Info: (480) 872-2717
Ages: 6-12
Price: Free
Free
Event Website: Chandlermuseum.org
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 2/22/20 at 11am-2pm 

In the Exhibits - Japanese Internment

Children's Arts/Crafts, For the Family, History/Science
Family- friendly hands on activities in the middle of our Gaman: Enduring Japanese American Internment at Gila River. Gain a deeper understanding of this history. Make an origami crane, pack a suitcase, and more.
History;Education
Event Info: (480) 872-2717
Ages: 6-12
Price: Free
Free
Event Website: Chandlermuseum.org
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 2/29/20 at 11am-2pm 

Our Stories - Death and Diamonds: The Life of Samuel Soldinger

Talks/Lectures
Born into a Jewish family in Poland in 1924, Samuel Soldinger found himself and his family confined to the Krakow Ghetto after the Germans invaded. While everyone around him died, Samuel survived the Holocaust working in Oskar Schindler’s factory. After the war he learned to cut diamonds and moved to New York City. He arrived in Chandler, Arizona in 1962 to manage the new Harry Winston diamond manufacturing plant on Pecos Rd. Collections Coordinator Nate Meyers will share Samuel’s dramatic story.
Diamonds;Holocaust;Survivor;Chandler
Event Info: (480) 782-2874
Ages: Adults
Price: Free
Free
Event Website: www.chandleraz.gov/explore/arts-and-culture/chandler-museum
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 2/29/20 at 10:30pm-12pm 

Where are the Women? Searching for Chandler’s Historic Women

Talks/Lectures
Join us to hear about the quest for the women who helped shape Chandler--from the perspective of an amateur historian. With a bit of inspiration and a lot of perseverance, what started as obstacles in the search became a larger lesson about why women remain the underwritten characters of history, where they can be found, and some ideas for what we can do moving forward.
History;Education
Event Info: (480) 872-2717
Ages: Adults
Price: Free
Free
Event Website: Chandlermuseum.org
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Tue 3/3/20 at 12pm-12:30pm 

History Detectives - Ostrich Madness

Children's Arts/Crafts
How did a Chandler ostrich create a tragedy? Come learn about Chandler’s ostrich industry and find out what happened to Mrs. L.D. Rousseau.
History;Education
Event Info: (480) 872-2717
Ages: 6-12
Price: Free
Free
Event Website: Chandlermuseum.org
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 3/7/20 at 11am-2pm 

STEM Saturday - Urban Gardening

Gardening
Thinking of growing a food garden but don't have a back yard? Maybe you'd like to keep your chives fresher than your refrigerator will keep them. Get your hands dirty with the Museum of Science and Sustainability this Saturday and experiment with different small-space gardening methods.
History;Exhibits
Event Info: (480) 872-2717
Ages: 6-12
Price: Free
Free
Event Website: Chandlermuseum.org
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 3/14/20 at 11am-2pm 

Patios, Pools, and the Invention of the American Backyard

Museum, History/Science
March 14- May 24, 2020.
The suburban backyard is an American original—an invention so familiar it hardly seems invented at all. Patios, Pools, & the Invention of the American Backyard explores the mid-century backyard from the rise of the suburbs and tract houses, to the beauty of postwar garden design, and the birth of the environmental movement. Filled with vintage photographs, historic drawings, and fun period advertisements, the exhibition reveals how these spaces became such an integral part of American popular culture.
Patios, Pools, & the Invention of the American Backyard is presented by the Smithsonian Institution
Event Info: (480) 782-2717
Price: Free
Free
Event Website: www.chandlermuseum.org
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 3/14/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/15/20 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 3/17/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 3/18/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 3/19/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 3/20/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 3/21/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/22/20 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 3/24/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 3/25/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 3/26/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 3/27/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 3/28/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/29/20 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 3/31/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 4/1/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 4/2/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 4/3/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 4/4/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 4/5/20 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 4/7/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 4/8/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 4/9/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 4/10/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 4/11/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 4/12/20 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 4/14/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 4/15/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 4/16/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 4/17/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 4/18/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 4/19/20 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 4/21/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 4/22/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 4/23/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 4/24/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 4/25/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 4/26/20 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 4/28/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 4/29/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 4/30/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 5/1/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 5/2/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 5/3/20 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 5/5/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 5/6/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 5/7/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 5/8/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 5/9/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 5/10/20 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 5/12/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 5/13/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 5/14/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 5/15/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 5/16/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 5/17/20 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 5/19/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 5/20/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 5/21/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 5/22/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 5/23/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 5/24/20 at 1pm-5pm 

C-Town Suitcase Club

Children's Arts/Crafts, Children
Travel through time and explore everyday objects from the past, 3-5 year olds and their caregivers
March 17- Bales.
Children learn about the process of growing cotton and the importance of this crop in Arizona. We will have fun separating the seed from the boll and have a cotton –pickin’ good time!
History;Exhibits
Event Info: (480) 872-2717
Ages: 3-5
Price: Free
Free
Event Website: Chandlermuseum.org
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Tue 3/17/20 at 10am-11am 

Demonstration Day - For the Love of Turquoise with Carrie Cannon

Children's Arts/Crafts
Carrie Cannon, a member of the Kiowa tribe speaks to how this blue-to-green gemstone serves as a long standing tradition amongst Native cultures of the Southwest. Come see her demonstration of turquoise in various forms and learn of the profound meaning it holds to individual tribes. This program is made possible by Arizona Humanities.
History;Education
Event Info: (480) 872-2717
Ages: 6-12
Price: Free
Free
Event Website: Chandlermuseum.org
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 3/21/20 at 11am-2pm 

aMUSEment - Patio Play

Children, Museum
Enjoy the Arizona sunshine on the grounds of the Chandler Museum as we explore outdoor games like croquet and horseshoes. Enjoy a glass of fresh squeezed lemonade on the patio and be sure to also check out our traveling exhibit Patios, Pools, and the Invention of the American Backyard.
History;Education
Event Info: (480) 872-2717
Ages: 6-12
Price: Free
Free
Event Website: Chandlermuseum.org
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 3/28/20 at 11am-2pm