Around Arizona What's Happening Where To Go Top Acts log into calendar / register
 
  space



Western Spirit: Scottsdale's Museum of the West


address  3830 N. Marshall Way
 Scottsdale, AZ  85251
phone (480) 686-9539
hours Tue.-Wed., Fri.-Sat. 9:30 am-5 pm; Thu. 9:30 am-9 pm (Nov.-Apr.), 9:30 a.m.-5 p.m. (May-Oct.); Sun. 11 am-5 pm
general adm $15; $13 seniors (65+) and active military $8 full-time students with ID and children 6-17; free for Museum members and children 5 and under
www.scottsdalemuseumwest.org

“Canvas of Clay: Hopi Pottery Masterworks from The Allan and Judith Cooke Collection” Exhibition

“Canvas of Clay: Hopi Pottery Masterworks from The Allan and Judith Cooke Collection” Exhibition

Art Show, Ceramics/Pottery, History/Science
“Canvas of Clay: Hopi Pottery Masterworks from The Allan and Judith Cooke Collection” features more than 65 of the finest examples of Hopi pottery, on exhibit for the first time. Spanning six centuries, the exhibition explores the history and stylistic traditions of the Hopi, who have excelled in the creation of ceramics for generations. Among the historic and contemporary masterworks are 18 ceramics by Nampeyo of Hano, the most famous of the Hopi potters. Twenty-two other master potters are also represented in the exhibition, including Nampeyo’s daughters and other descendants. The ongoing exhibition will run through December 29, 2019 and includes approximately half of The Allan and Judith Cooke Collection, one of the finest private collections of Hopi pottery, which has been gifted to the museum. Ceramics from the collection will be permanently featured in a new museum gallery, The Allan and Judith Cooke Gallery. Sponsored by the City of Scottsdale, the gallery honors the donor and his late wife, and the Hopi people whose tribal land lies in northern Arizona. A national treasure, this collection serves as a point of pride for the City of Scottsdale and the state of Arizona.
art;museum;Native American;Hopi;history;art history;exhibition;ceramics;pottery
Event Info: (480) 686-9539
Ages: All ages
Price: Included with museum admission; free for members
Event Website: http://scottsdalemuseumwest.org/project/canvas-of-clay-hopi-pottery-masterworks-from-the-allan-and-judith-cooke-collection-sept
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 11/17/18 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 11/18/18 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 11/20/18 - Wed 11/21/18 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Fri 11/23/18 - Sat 11/24/18 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 11/25/18 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 11/27/18 - Wed 11/28/18 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 11/29/18 at 9:30am-9pm 
 • Fri 11/30/18 - Sat 12/1/18 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 12/2/18 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 12/4/18 - Wed 12/5/18 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 12/6/18 at 9:30am-9pm 
 • Fri 12/7/18 - Sat 12/8/18 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 12/9/18 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 12/11/18 - Wed 12/12/18 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 12/13/18 at 9:30am-9pm 
 • Fri 12/14/18 - Sat 12/15/18 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 12/16/18 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 12/18/18 - Wed 12/19/18 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 12/20/18 at 9:30am-9pm 
 • Fri 12/21/18 - Sat 12/22/18 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 12/23/18 at 11am-5pm 
 • Wed 12/26/18 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 12/27/18 at 9:30am-9pm 
 • Fri 12/28/18 - Sat 12/29/18 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 12/30/18 at 11am-5pm 
 • Wed 1/2/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 1/3/19 at 9:30am-9pm 
 • Fri 1/4/19 - Sat 1/5/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 1/6/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 1/8/19 - Wed 1/9/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 1/10/19 at 9:30am-9pm 
 • Fri 1/11/19 - Sat 1/12/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 1/13/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 1/15/19 - Wed 1/16/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 1/17/19 at 9:30am-9pm 
 • Fri 1/18/19 - Sat 1/19/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 1/20/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 1/22/19 - Wed 1/23/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 1/24/19 at 9:30am-9pm 
 • Fri 1/25/19 - Sat 1/26/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 1/27/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 1/29/19 - Wed 1/30/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 1/31/19 at 9:30am-9pm 
 • Fri 2/1/19 - Sat 2/2/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 2/3/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 2/5/19 - Wed 2/6/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 2/7/19 at 9:30am-9pm 
 • Fri 2/8/19 - Sat 2/9/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 2/10/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 2/12/19 - Wed 2/13/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 2/14/19 at 9:30am-9pm 
 • Fri 2/15/19 - Sat 2/16/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 2/17/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 2/19/19 - Wed 2/20/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 2/21/19 at 9:30am-9pm 
 • Fri 2/22/19 - Sat 2/23/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 2/24/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 2/26/19 - Wed 2/27/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 2/28/19 at 9:30am-9pm 
 • Fri 3/1/19 - Sat 3/2/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/3/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 3/5/19 - Wed 3/6/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 3/7/19 at 9:30am-9pm 
 • Fri 3/8/19 - Sat 3/9/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/10/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 3/12/19 - Wed 3/13/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 3/14/19 at 9:30am-9pm 
 • Fri 3/15/19 - Sat 3/16/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/17/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 3/19/19 - Wed 3/20/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 3/21/19 at 9:30am-9pm 
 • Fri 3/22/19 - Sat 3/23/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/24/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 3/26/19 - Wed 3/27/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 3/28/19 at 9:30am-9pm 
 • Fri 3/29/19 - Sat 3/30/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/31/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 4/2/19 - Wed 4/3/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 4/4/19 at 9:30am-9pm 
 • Fri 4/5/19 - Sat 4/6/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 4/7/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 4/9/19 - Wed 4/10/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 4/11/19 at 9:30am-9pm 
 • Fri 4/12/19 - Sat 4/13/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 4/14/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 4/16/19 - Wed 4/17/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 4/18/19 at 9:30am-9pm 
 • Fri 4/19/19 - Sat 4/20/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 4/21/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 4/23/19 - Wed 4/24/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 4/25/19 at 9:30am-9pm 
 • Fri 4/26/19 - Sat 4/27/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 4/28/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 4/30/19 - Sat 5/4/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 5/5/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 5/7/19 - Sat 5/11/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 5/12/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 5/14/19 - Sat 5/18/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 5/19/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 5/21/19 - Sat 5/25/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 5/26/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 5/28/19 - Sat 6/1/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 6/2/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 6/4/19 - Sat 6/8/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 6/9/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 6/11/19 - Sat 6/15/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 6/16/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 6/18/19 - Sat 6/22/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 6/23/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 6/25/19 - Sat 6/29/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 6/30/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 7/2/19 - Sat 7/6/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 7/7/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 7/9/19 - Sat 7/13/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 7/14/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 7/16/19 - Sat 7/20/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 7/21/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 7/23/19 - Sat 7/27/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 7/28/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 7/30/19 - Sat 8/3/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 8/4/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 8/6/19 - Sat 8/10/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 8/11/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 8/13/19 - Sat 8/17/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 8/18/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 8/20/19 - Sat 8/24/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 8/25/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 8/27/19 - Sat 8/31/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 9/1/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 9/3/19 - Sat 9/7/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 9/8/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 9/10/19 - Sat 9/14/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 9/15/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 9/17/19 - Sat 9/21/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 9/22/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 9/24/19 - Sat 9/28/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 9/29/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 10/1/19 - Sat 10/5/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 10/6/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 10/8/19 - Sat 10/12/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 10/13/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 10/15/19 - Sat 10/19/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 10/20/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 10/22/19 - Sat 10/26/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 10/27/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 10/29/19 - Sat 11/2/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 11/3/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 11/5/19 - Wed 11/6/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 11/7/19 at 11am-9pm 
 • Fri 11/8/19 - Sat 11/9/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 11/10/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 11/12/19 - Wed 11/13/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 11/14/19 at 11am-9pm 
 • Fri 11/15/19 - Sat 11/16/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 11/17/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 11/19/19 - Wed 11/20/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 11/21/19 at 11am-9pm 
 • Fri 11/22/19 - Sat 11/23/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 11/24/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 11/26/19 - Wed 11/27/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Fri 11/29/19 - Sat 11/30/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 12/1/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 12/3/19 - Wed 12/4/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 12/5/19 at 11am-9pm 
 • Fri 12/6/19 - Sat 12/7/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 12/8/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 12/10/19 - Wed 12/11/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 12/12/19 at 11am-9pm 
 • Fri 12/13/19 - Sat 12/14/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 12/15/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 12/17/19 - Wed 12/18/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 12/19/19 at 11am-9pm 
 • Fri 12/20/19 - Sat 12/21/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 12/22/19 at 11am-5pm 
 • Tue 12/24/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Thu 12/26/19 at 11am-9pm 
 • Fri 12/27/19 - Sat 12/28/19 at 9:30am-5pm 
 • Sun 12/29/19 at 11am-5pm